Monroeville & Gee's Bend

21st Annual Alabama Writers Symposium

April 19, 2018 to April 20, 2018 in Monroeville , AL


Alabama Writers Symposium

Unless otherwise stated, photo provided by 21st Annual Alabama Writers Symposium
website tickets

Every spring Alabama’s literary community gathers in Monroeville, Alabama, to celebrate the state’s rich literary heritage at the Alabama Writers Symposium. Some of Alabama’s most celebrated writers and scholars lead discussion sessions, readings and workshops on themes ranging from Literary Gumbo to Stars Fell on Alabama. Since the inaugural event in 1998, writers and scholars participating in the event have included Fannie Flagg, Rick Bragg, Kathryn Tucker Windham, Mark Childress, Winston Groom, Sena Jeter Naslund, Brad Watson, Wayne Flynt, Daniel Wallace, Don Noble, Mary Ward Brown, George Plimpton, Sonia Sanchez, Watt Key, Yaa Gyasi, and Ace Atkins. Harper Lee herself even arrived one year to accept her namesake award. Annual event highlights include the presentation of the Harper Lee Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Writer, the Eugene Current-Garcia Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Literary Scholar, and the Truman Capote Prize for Alabama's Distinguished Writer of Literary Non-Fiction or the Short Story. Delicious food, art exhibits, music, booksellers and author signings round out the event's entertainment. The Alabama Writers Symposium is a project of Coastal Alabama Community College.