Tuscumbia Depot and Roundhouse
The Tuscumbia Railroad Depot was built in 1888 by the Memphis & Charleston Railroad as a division headquarters. The Depot was built on the site of the first railroad west of the Allegheny Mountains which began in 1830.
The Southern abandoned Tuscumbia’s 5th Street Station in 1946. The Southern Railway had built a new station about a mile north of Tuscumbia to serve the whole Shoals Area. The depot was given to the City of Tuscumbia to be used as a recreational building for the youth of Tuscumbia.
The Depot has been restored to its original 1888 condition. One room houses early carriage that belonged to Helen Keller’s family. Anne Sullivan and Helen Keller traveled using this depot often in its early years.
- 204 West 5th Street
- Tuscumbia, AL 35674