The Mobile Bay Middle Lighthouse, located in Mobile Bay, began operations on December 1, 1885.
The facility was built on an iron undergirding, and both the tower and the hexagonal keeper's house it supported were patterned after lighthouses operating in Chesapeake Bay. The lighthouse was automated in 1935 and deactivated in 1967.
The site was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.
The lighthouse is only viewable by boat and is not open for tours.