L & N Railroad Station Bay Minette
In 1904 L & N constructed a new Depot in Bay Minette called “The Union” because it was built at the juncture of the Ft. Morgan Railroad line with the main railroad line. By 1908 Bay Minette was booming with 1,200 residents and in 1912 The Newport Mining Company located here greatly boosting the economy. Abandoned by the railroad in 1985, this building once served as the social hub of Bay Minette. During the early and mid-20th Century, it was from this building that the telegraph office would keep businesses and residents informed of news and events such as when the county courthouse moved to Bay Minette. Relocated in 1987, it was restored and serves as the office of the North Baldwin Chamber of Commerce. Over two years of community interest and fundraising went into completing this project to include businesses, individuals and children with such notable contributors as, then Governor George Wallace. This historic building served as a backdrop for the movie Close Encounters of the Third Kind. More recently, Seaboard Systems Railroad donated the SCL & N Caboose #114 to the City of Bay Minette, which was quickly refurbished and moved on site at a later date.