Leesburg, Alabama, is a scenic town located on the banks of Weiss Lake, originally named Hamptonville after its early settlers Joseph Hampton and the Henslee family. Established in 1836, the town changed its name to Leesburg in 1839. The construction of Weiss Lake Dam on the Coosa River in the late 1950s led to the formation of the 30,200-acre Weiss Lake. Known for its motto "Come, Enjoy, and Stay Awhile." The area is also enriched by nearby attractions like Cherokee Rock Village, and Yellow Creek Falls.