Located off Highway 14, Autauga Place sits at the historic crossroad of Autauga Street and Academy Street. The house was built by Swift Creek Mills Co. in 1896. It was first sold to Dr. Snow in January of 1901, then to Dr. Tankersley in 1906. Dr. Shanks bought it in January of 1917, and the Shanks' family continued to reside in it until recently. Karen and Ricky Tucker purchased the house in January of 2009, and immediately began renovations. The ceilings of the house were once lowered, but have been restored to their original height of 13 feet. The house is 3,000 square feet. The entrance hallway measures 12x34 feet. There are two front rooms that are 17x17 feet and will seat up to 32 people each. Also, there is another large room located in the front of the house that is 17x54 feet and will seat 64 people. The room also includes a double-sided fireplace that is heated with gas logs. The original front porch still remains on the house and is 46x12 feet. There is an L-shaped porch along the right side of the house that has ceiling fans, is handicap accessible, and will seat up to 30 people. On the south side of the house, there has been an additional deck built that is 42x12 feet, and is also handicap accessible. Also on the south side of the house is a 34-acre lawn that is a great area for outdoor events. The house has one acre of land in the rear for plenty of available parking. Autauga place also provides private restrooms, a kitchen with necessary appliances and high speed Internet.
For more information visit:
202 S. Autauga St.
Autaugaville, AL 36003
- Call or go online for reservations