Search results for Historic site
Horizontally arched bridge spanning Tallapoosa River. One of world's longest curved bridges. 143 ft. above water, 1738 ft. long. Yates Dam, Lake Martin nearby. Thurlow Dam tours.
Monument to commemorate the engagement between Bienville and the Alibamo Indians on the bluff along the Alabama River.
Located in renovated hosiery mill, built 1888. Early antiques and collectibles, local artist. Big Mill Bistro & Bakery.
Church organized 1842, now one of oldest African-American institutions in Mobile. Originally named Little Zion, but after extensive remodeling in 1896, renamed Big Zion.
Bronze statue sculpted by Robert Wehle. Life-size pointer atop granite base with names of 11 Bullock Co. men in Bird Dog Hall of Fame.
Built in 1923, this Neo-classical Revival, seven-story stone, brick and steel structure served as a principal center of social and cultural life in the era of segregation. It still serves as home to Birmingham's African-American Masons. Viewable from outside only; currently closed for renovation.
City park with seven restored buildings with historical displays and includes an 1820s log cabin with period furnishings. Special events are held throughout the year, including "Cowboy and Outlaw History Day" on the second Saturday in November.
Bluff Hall, a Federal / Greek Revival house museum owned and operated by Marengo County Historical Society, Inc., features an extensive period furniture, art, and clothing collection.
World's only monument to a pest. Boll weevils devoured two-thirds of Coffee County's 1915 cotton crop, forcing local farmers to diversify and prosper.
Ready to hike? The site is only accessible by canoe or kayak and then be prepared to hike your way to the site. But it's well worth the trip to see the majestic surroundings and the historical site.
Built 1855. Canopied by century-old oaks, furnished with fine antiques and crystal chandeliers. Rare glimpse of life in Old South. Available for event rental.
First AME church in state (1866). Headquarters during Voting Rights movement. Starting point for Selma-to-Montgomery marchers; All-American Road begins here.
Rural homestead typical of 1800 and 1900s-era. Allows children of all ages to experience pioneer living, including wash day, milking cows, raising chickens, etc.
Built in 1850s by Dr. Brownfield, one of Opelika's first physicians. Example of Greek Revival to Victorian Gothic transition. Moved to present site, restored. Rental.
1822 Greek Revival plantation home significant to cultural development of central Alabama. Remarkable circular staircase spirals 24 ft. to 3rd-floor banquet room.
Only second Empire-style courthouse in Alabama. Built in 1871 and patterned after Executive Building in Washington, D.C.
Located in the Zion Hill neighborhood, church was focal point for a multi-year grass-roots project that united and empowered African-Americans to fight for the right to vote.
Constructed in 1903, the present structure was the fourth courthouse built on the site, following Greenville's selection as the county seat in December 1821.
Memorial plaques to two U.S. Congress representatives: Henry B. Steagall, George W. Andrews. Carillon/tower recognizes personnel who served at Fort Rucker since 1942.
1828 First Church building on present site. 1829 Diocese of Mobile formally established with Michael Portier as First Bishop of Mobile..
The Cathedral Church of the Advent is located on Twentieth Street at Sixth Avenue North.
1850. Oldest religious congregation in the Alabama. Architectural masterpiece encompassing basilica design, German stained-glass windows, and magnificent baldacchino-covered altar. Burial site of Mobile's bishops.
The heart shaped plaza was designed to include the names of all Alabamians killed in action during wars and conflicts for twentieth and twenty-first century. Centennial Memorial Park is also home to the State Law Enforcement Memorial.